Finally, I Can Glow Naturally! Thank You Coconut Oil!

In an older post, I revealed some rather personal information about my “glowing” underarms. I reviewed the Secret Natural Mineral Antiperspirant, which must have been the millionth brand I had tried. Every time I dared something “natural”, it ended up either working for about an hour, or not being natural at all. Well, the search is over! I can officially glow naturally!

About six or seven months ago, I can across a home-made recipe for deodorant/antiperspirant. Huh. Yeah, right. As if home-made would ever work, right? I had started consuming coconut oil a few months before for all kinds of uses – cooking, skin rashes, as an antifungal for my dog’s skin, etc. This recipe I found was primarily made of coconut oil. “Why not give it a try?” I asked myself, since I admired coconut oil’s properties so much. So, I did.

The first week, I always made sure I had a back-up antiperspirant in my purse in case. I, not once, had to reapply any deodorant. I put on the DIY coconut deodorant in the morning after my shower and was fine until the next morning. I was flabbergasted! No more aluminum and other fake stuff I don’t know about, and no more sticky film! I now recommend it to everyone I know.

First, here is the link to the recipe on The Prairie Homestead: http://www.theprairiehomestead.com/2012/12/diy-coconut-oil-deodorant.html.

And here is the recipe (thank you, thank you, thank you Jill Winger for posting this!):
1/3 cup of coconut oil
1/4 cup baking soda
1/4 cup arrowroot powder
4 tbsp. cornstarch
essential oils

The Prairie Homestead site has more info on the preparation, I suggest you visit it directly.

Both times I did this recipe, I used Tea Tree, Lemon and Grapefruit essential oils – they all have antibacterial properties. My first batch, which lasted close to six months, I used coconut oil that tastes and smells like coconut. No matter how much essential oil I put in there, I always had the coconut smell, which is not a bad thing, I guess. I switched it up to non-tasting coconut oil for my second batch, now it smells like fresh citrus. 🙂

A word of caution: make sure you use essential oils that can be applied to the skin, “fragrance oils” are not essential oil so avoid those. I found a great article you should read if you are new to essential oils: 21 Things You Should Know About Essential Oils

I am never, ever going back to store bought antiperspirant. Ever.

Final score: 5 out of 5

Leave a Reply

