Secret Natural Mineral Antiperspirant/Deodorant

Warning: I’m getting personal now (as if I wasn’t already personal about my scalp excema). But that’s the point right? Try a product and tell you what I think of it. Here goes…

A friend of mine once told me that someone told her that women don’t sweat… they “glow”. Yeah, ok, I like that. It sounds so much more “feminine”. Well, my “glowing underarms” end up not smelling like roses if I don’t cover them up with a good product. But who says women smell. They don’t “smell”… they “radiate scent”, but that doesn’t change the fact. Anyway, back to my review.

I tried Secret Natural Mineral in Lemongrass mint scent. What attracted me to it? The “natural” appeal, the fact that it’s an antiperspirant and a deodorant in one, and mint. I just like mint. It just says “yummy smell”, like a really good dessert. I was doubting the “natural” part since the first ingredient listed is aluminium. Is aluminium natural? I usually try to give a product at least a few weeks of adjustment before I pass judgement, so that’s what I did. I found that it worked pretty well to mask the odor and also reduce the “glowing”. But, one downfall is that is covers up the underarm so well that an almost impossible to remove sticky film gets, well, stuck there. Washing with a lathered loofa like it was coarse sandpaper wasn’t even enough to remove it.  Now that can’t be good… blocking my pores that badly. It seems extreme, so I stopped using it.

Final score: 2.5 out of 5

I’ll soon be writing reviews on the other brands I am trying, including a “pure & natural action, 24h gentle care” deodorant that should be banned from the shelves. Stay tuned.

Leave a Reply

