Centrios Speed to Sound Clock Radio for use with iPod/iPhone

A few years back, I was getting annoyed with waking up to the radio in the morning. I’d get up in a bad mood after having the morning news disturb my beauty sleep. I asked for a “Zen” alarm clock for Christmas, to help me wake up gradually. What a treat… for a few months. Until I had to move it further away from my bed as it was too easy to turn off. That worked, for another few months, until I just didn’t hear it anymore.

I’ve had an iPod Touch for about a year now and realized I could use it as an alarm clock and pick the music to which I wanted to wake up. So I went on a search for a docking station. My criteria: small, less than 50$, dull clock backlight (I like the darkness), dual alarm, and a “nice to have” sleep function to fall asleep with soothing music.

I found the Centrios Speed to Sound Clock Radio for use with iPod/iPhone. The box (and the sales guy) said it meets all my needs. And it does, but I discovered more needs as I started using it. Like being able to control the alarm volume… The Centrios doesn’t allow you to customize the wake-up volume and the default? MAX volume… on both the clock radio and the iPod. Even when you’re “sleep” function volume is low, you wake up feeling like you’re standing next to the speakers at a night club. I think I like the radio better.

I’m returning my Centrios and will keep looking. I might have to up my price a bit.

Final score: 2 out of 5

One thought on “Centrios Speed to Sound Clock Radio for use with iPod/iPhone

Leave a Reply

