Tassimo vs Keurig

Ok, first things first… One word: Starbucks. The Tassimo brews Starbucks t-discs. Not just one type of Starbucks coffee, 5 kinds of Starbucks coffee, plus Starbucks Cappucino. What more can one want?
*** 2012/01/02 Update: Starbucks no longer produces Tassimo t-discs 😦 ***

All right, not everyone likes what I like. That’s why I will try my best to be objective about the Tassimo versus the Keurig coffee brewing systems. Honestly, I think both are just as good. It really depends on your personal taste and what you’re looking for in an individual coffee brewing system.

I suck at making coffee. Literally. Using a traditional coffee maker, my java was always either too strong or too watery. Whenever I had company over for dinner, I’d get one of my guests to make the coffee. How embarrassing is that?! Any single-serve coffee system would improve my coffee ten-fold, no doubt about it.

What I enjoy about the Tassimo (I’m on my second version of the machine) is the ability to make more than simple coffee or tea: Lattes, cappucinos, chai latte, etc. If you don’t like that stuff, then the Keurig might be better for you. Although I have heard Keurig users complain that its coffees are not strong enough. Personally, the Kahlua flavoured coffee is yummy.

Really, list what you want in a coffee maker to help you make a decision and buy your machine at a “client satisfaction guaranteed” store so you can easily return it if you don’t like it. My two-cents.

Tassimo final score: 4 out of 5

2 thoughts on “Tassimo vs Keurig

  1. I got advised that to formulate the ideal cappuccino you
    have to use really cold milk – however I can not tell the improvement in
    the ones I’ve produced from home. Although I’m a little bit of
    a rookie the cappuccinos I create at home are superior than Starbucks
    (In My Estimation Anyway !)

  2. I completely agree with you that homemade is (almost) always best! As for the cold milk, I can’t say I have tested it. Since writing this post, I visited Rome and upon my return, found myself quite disappointed in my Tassimo coffee. The coffee bars in Rome are out of this world! To get as close an experience as I could to my dream Italian cappuccino, I purchased a Nespresso Lattissima machine. Ohhhh my! It uses fresh milk, instead of the pre-packaged concentrated “stuff”. And the espresso is delicious. In this case, homemade is definitely not best. 😉

Leave a Reply

